How to Remove Dropbox from a Mac Computer

If you no longer need a Dropbox client on your Mac, you can completely remove it from the system. Follow these tips.

Application and folders removal

1. Locate the Dropbox application in the desktop menu and click on its icon.

2. Quit the Dropbox.

Click the gear icon in the drop-down menu and select Quit Dropbox.

3. Find the Dropbox icon in the Programs Delete it by selecting Move to Trash in the menu or dragging the icon to the Trash.

4. You can also delete the Dropbox folder.

To do this, select the Move to Trash item in the folder menu or drag the folder to the Trash.

Please note that together with the folder all its contents will be deleted. If these files are not stored in your Dropbox storage account, you may need to copy them to another folder before deleting the Dropbox folder.

5. Remove Dropbox from the Sidebar.

To do this, right-click on the Dropbox icon and select Remove from Sidebar from the menu.

Remove Dropbox from the context menu

Open the Finder application. In the menu bar, select Go to, and then Go to Folder, or use the key combination Shift + Cmd + G.

In the search bar, enter ~ / Library and click Go.

Move the DropboxHelperTools file to the Trash.

This will remove Dropbox from the context menu.

Again open the Finder In the menu bar, select Go to, and then Go to Folder, or use the key combination Shift + Cmd + G.

In the search bar, enter ~/.dropbox and click Go.

Select the entire contents of the /.dropbox folder and click Move to Trash.

Done!! you have deleted all the settings of the Dropbox application.

NOTE: If you delete the Dropbox client from your computer, your files will no longer sync to your Dropbox storage.

After you delete the Dropbox client from your computer, your Dropbox account will not be deleted, and the files will be saved on your hard drive if you do not manually delete them as described above.

Be careful: deleting the Dropbox folder from the system may result in the loss of the latest versions of the files it contains if they have not yet been synchronized with the repository or copied to another location on the computer.

Leave a Reply