How to Deactivate or Delete Your Facebook Account

We all love to stay in touch with our friends and family members, nowadays Facebook keeps us connected so that we can share our life with our friends and family members connected through Facebook.

But there may be a chance you want to take control of your privacy and decided to quit Facebook or deactivate your Facebook account.

This is possible and you can do this. There is a difference between deactivating the Facebook account and deleting a Facebook account. When you deactivate your Facebook account, your accounts go into a suspended state. You can reactive it any-time and people will not be able to see your timeline and search you on Facebook.

Some of the information will remain visible to your friends and family members like the messages you have sent to them. While when you delete your Facebook account, you can’t regain access to your account. Your all identifiable information will be deleted from the Facebook record.

Deactivating Facebook Account

To deactivate your Facebook account. Login to your Facebook account. Click on the arrow icon on the top right corner and click Settings in the menu.

Click on Your Facebook Information on the left side menu options.

Click on the Deactivation and Deletion option.

Select Deactivate Account and then click on Continue to Account Deactivation.

Once done, your Facebook account will be deactivated.

Deleting Your Facebook Account

To deactivate your Facebook account. Login to your Facebook account. Click on the arrow icon on the top right corner and click Settings in the menu.

Click on Your Facebook Information on the left side menu options.

Click on the Deactivation and Deletion option.

Select Permanently Delete Account and then click on Continue to Account Deletion.

Facebook will show you other options related to your account before deletion like you can deactivate your account or you can download your information like posts, pictures etc.

If you are Admin of Facebook pages, give other admin access and if there is any Facebook App you own, you can also manage that. Once you are all set, click on Delete Account.

Leave a Reply